Wrap Story: Playing With Proportion

November 9, 2009


This Wrap Story is a part of a mini-series, documenting every present I’ve wrapped since the launch of this blog. For more, click the “Wrap Story” link in the right-hand column.

My cousin D. was married this summer to the lovely R. I originally picked this picture where they look so serene, but this photo is more telling of their personalities.


Image courtesy Lisa Higaki

That’s D. high-fiving the entire wedding party as they enter the reception. D. is like a big kid – lots of fun, warm, and good-hearted. He just finished a rigorous graphic design program and is now designing professionally! R. is a good, mellow counterpart to D.’s energy. She was aptly described in a toast as “always prepared for the occasion” and has a great sense of style. It was great to celebrate with them.

We shopped for their wedding gift as a family. After fruitlessly wandering the “bath accessories” section of Macy’s, we decided on another item from their registry – a tea kettle. It’s something we enjoy using and hope they’ll get a lot of use out of.

I wrapped it with the celery-stamped kraft paper I blogged about a while ago. I totally had them in mind by the time I finished this fun stamping project. You can see I used the section of paper where the first row of stamps start. I thought it looked a bit more modern.

I tied a thin, grey ribbon around it to accent the silver ‘roses’. For embellishment, I tried out the grocery bag pom-pom from another previous post.

It looked way too small, and worse, rag-tag juxtaposed with the decorative paper. I didn’t have any suitable ribbon to make a bow. Time to improvise!

I liked the idea of a pom-pom, but clearly, this gift needed a bigger embellishment in proportion to the box. I remembered a Martha Stewart tutorial on making a tissue paper pom-pom. I’d seen these on a few blogs I admire but hadn’t tried making one myself.

It was very satisfying.

While I’ve shied away from more traditional looks in wrapping other wedding presents, this white blossom seemed really appropriate for the occasion. Below is a before-and-after to better compare the two poms.

Isn’t there a huge difference? It was a good reminder that sometimes, proportion is key. The plastic pom-pom looked great on other things, but on this gift it looked puny and a little sad. Match a bigger decoration to a bigger gift for an overall happier effect!

Do you think much about proportion when you wrap gifts? Is this information helpful, or does it stress you out? Let me know in the comments!

10 Responses to “Wrap Story: Playing With Proportion”

  1. Makiko Says:

    I’ve learned much from your photoes. And enjoyed how you made present so bautifully. You have great sense of art! Your pom-pom looks like peony flower.
    I like thinking about proportion. But sadly, I often give up to express what’s in my mind because I have to get along with the stuffs in my house..

    • thegiftedblog Says:

      I can relate to the feeling of not having exactly what you’d like on hand at your house. That can be frustrating.

      Thank you for your kind compliments!

  2. silverkeys Says:

    What lovely presentation! The larger tissue paper pom definitely looks so much better. I hadn’t consciously thought about proportion before, but you’re right, I think it does made a whole lot of difference.

    I did this once before, too (used a version of the Martha Stewart tissue flower on top of a small gift). Yours is much neater and more beautiful, though. Mine had a lot of raggedy edges. :)

    • thegiftedblog Says:

      Ah, that picture is great! What beautiful lighting, too. I’m starting a reader gallery soon. Would you be up for submitting it to our Flickr pool?

      • silverkeys Says:

        Thank you – that’s high praise, coming from you. I was lucky in that the window in the room I was living in when I took that picture got a lot of great afternoon sun. My current apartment is really dark. So no brightly lit photos anymore. :(

        As to submitting to a Flickr pool, sure! I need to clean up my Flickr account sometime soon anyway.

  3. shawna Says:

    wow. it’s incredible what a difference a pom-pom can make. i never would have thought that until i saw the side-by-side photos! it looks great!

    • thegiftedblog Says:

      Thanks, Sha.

      Thanks also for taking the photos of me with the gift – they have been so useful! It was a good opportunity since most of the time I am not dressed up and N. is the only one around to take the photo. : )


  4. Such a neat blog! I’m afraid your packages look much prettier than mine ever do. =) I need to work at it some more! Thanks for the suggestions. I’ll stop back by soon.

    • thegiftedblog Says:

      You are kind to say so – thank you!

      We would love to see your future gift wrapping projects! Please let me know if you ever post about any or if you’re interested in submitting a photo to the reader gallery I’m starting.

  5. d Says:

    Wow, I am amazed by the process that went into making and choosing our wedding gift. Thanks so much! Oh, and the tea pot, amazing!

    d + r


Leave a Reply

