Gift Wrapping Arsenal: Scotch Tape

November 2, 2009


Gift Wrapping Arsenal is a mini-series on the items I personally find essential for gift wrapping. As you’ll see throughout my blog, there is an emphasis on versatility, thrift, and style! For more, click the “Gift Wrapping Arsenal” link in the right-hand column.

My sister asked me a while back what adhesives I use to wrap presents. I wasn’t going to post about it since it’s so commonplace, but since I use tape on almost every gift I figured it’s worth a mention.

Though there are some who prefer to wrap gifts without any visible tape, it honestly doesn’t bother me. I use regular Scotch tape, usually purchased at the dollar store. I like to press the tape firmly to the paper using the flat side of my thumbnail.

However, if money (and my loathe to accumulate stuff I might not use) were no object, I would happily buy some fancy tapes to try. This kind of Japanese washi tape has been all over the craft/design blogosphere. These are from a company called happytape.


Images via happytape

So pretty. I also get a kick out of the lace packing tape below, designed by Karl Zahn and carried by Chocosho.


Image via Chocosho

My mom sometimes uses spray adhesive to wrap gifts. What about you? Do you use standard scotch tape? Double-sided? Let me know in the comments!

7 Responses to “Gift Wrapping Arsenal: Scotch Tape”

  1. shawna Says:

    hahaha thanks for posting about this! those fancy tapes are sooo cool! i might wrap more often if i had something cool like that!

  2. Makiko Says:

    Oh my gosh, I had no idea except using scotch tape untill looked your post! Wow, these lacy-looking tapes are really cool.

  3. silverkeys Says:

    I love your colorful tape! :)

    On an unrelated note, I saw this tutorial on Craftzine and thought you might enjoy it; have you seen it?

    http://www.shopnicepackage.com/blog/2009/11/3/how-to-vintage-photo-gift-tags.html

    • thegiftedblog Says:

      Silverkeys, you are reading my craft tutorial mind! I saw that tutorial when they posted it and was just thinking today about how to do a recycled version of it. : )

      Obviously you know about them already, but I’m doing a little post on Nice Package this Friday. They style everything so beautifully.

  4. paminboots Says:

    I have been eyeing that colorful washi tape for some time now. I just can’t decide which colors to get! I would love to see an inspiring washi tutorial some day.

    • thegiftedblog Says:

      Hi Pam –

      I know, as I’ve seen pictures of it in use, it’s even prettier than I thought! The tapes are a bit translucent, so it looks pretty cool in layers.

      Washi tape is on my Christmas wish list, so maybe I will have the means to do a tutorial soon! : )


Leave a Reply

