Work in Progress: Gifted Bags

August 20, 2009


As much as I love gift wrapping, I am well aware that for many people it is a chore. When I got the idea for Gifted, a line of reusable gift wrap, I loved the thought of making things that both gift-wrap-lovers and -haters could enjoy. For lovers, it’s a fresh, handmade way to package a gift. For the haters, it’s as easy as throwing the present in a paper gift bag…but without the stigma of “oh, you just threw this into a paper gift bag”!

I found instructions for sewing drawstring bags and went to town.  The first batch are small, 6″x5″ ones perfect for a fancy bar of soap, mini journal, set of stationery, or other small gift (like a Leatherman multitool (see, who said this was a blog just for girls?)).

For weeks, I had an awesome rhythm of measuring, cutting, and sewing in the mornings while N. napped. Then I just ran out of steam. I was so close to finishing this little batch and I freaked out a little. I had in mind to sell these – but I was afraid of actually showing them to anyone!

It took a crafting get-together with a friend to get out my rut. Sitting at the dining room table, I began the final step of threading the drawstring ribbons through and knotting them.

It was a cool lesson in the power of doing something collectively. Anyone else up for making stuff together?

7 Responses to “Work in Progress: Gifted Bags”

  1. hester Says:

    this is great! If it were in town, I would enjoy collectively making some things.
    my boyfriend likes to wrap small gifts in vintage handkerchiefs he gets at goodwill, so it’s like two gifts!

  2. thegiftedblog Says:

    Aw, I would like to collectively make things with you, too!

    How cool of your boyfriend. Do you use the handkerchiefs as hankies, or something else?

    We were recently in Iowa and I had a great time hunting down vintage scarves for that same purpose. Thrifting/antiquing has its own culture there! I’m excited to post about it soon.

  3. David D Says:

    Charissa, this is brilliant! What a great idea. Best of luck to you.

  4. Joy Says:

    Love this idea! I don’t have time to make them, but wouldn’t it be a great idea to sell them?

  5. hannasoyk Says:

    yup, always up for crafting!

  6. Lexie Says:

    Hey c, can you post some pictures of these bags in use?

    • thegiftedblog Says:

      Ooh, good idea. I thought about it but haven’t gotten a chance to give anyone a gift in one yet. I will be on the lookout for an opportunity or try to set up a photo shoot.

      I do have some photos of another product in use. Haven’t written the post yet but am really excited to put them up!


Leave a Reply

